News Archive

News Archive

U.S. Distance Team Set for 10th IAAF World Championships in Helsinki

By Ryan Lamppa, Running USA wire

The 2005 IAAF World Track & Field Championships - set for August 6-14 - return fittingly to Helsinki, Finland, site of the successful inaugural event in 1983. To the biennial meet, Team USA sends another strong contingent who collectively have won 36 Olympic medals and 29 World Champ medals.

Marathon silver medalist Meb Keflezighi

An experienced U.S. distance squad is led by 2004 Olympic Marathon silver medalist Meb Keflezighi who will run the 10,000 meters and fellow Olympians Alan Webb, Tim Broe, Shalane Flanagan, Abdi Abdirahman, Jen Rhines, Daniel Lincoln, Anthony Famiglietti and Amy Rudolph. The women's 3000 meter steeplechase will be contested for the first time as a medal event.

Based on recent performances, the U.S. distance squad should earn several top 10 placements and one or two top 5 finishes.

Team USA has won 9 medals

Since the first World Championships in 1983, Team USA has won 9 medals from 1500 meters to the marathon including three gold medals (Mary Decker, 1500m and 3000m, 1983 Helsinki and Mark Plaatjes, marathon, 1993 Stuttgart).

Below find the U.S. distance squad for the World Championships including "A" and "B" qualifying standards, event schedule, U.S. medal(s)/best performance and athlete snapshot bio.


... taken from the USATF Road Running Information Center - a subdivision of the US Track & Field Federation. With permission from the USATF